Click for Chennai (Madras), India Forecast






This sadhana pattern is specially designed to heal and activate the six koshas (sheaths) which constitute our existence. The sadhana for every kosha would involve a teaching for contemplation, a physical sadhana and a chakra meditation for 21 minutes. The sadhana for every kosha must be done six days a week, from Monday to Saturday. The seventh day (Sunday) must be a day of rest when no sadhana is done. These sadhanas should also be done in cycles of six consecutive weeks and the seventh week being a week of total rest.



1. Annamaya Kosha (Physical Body)


Contemplation: “Your Body is not your body”. Contemplate on the automatic and dependent arising nature of the body. See how the body is a changing process that is being controlled by the whole universe and that you really are not controlling the functions of the body.


Sadhana: Any form of physical exercise like Yoga, Tai-Chi, Aerobics etc. done in total attention and awareness of the body movements.


Meditation: Mooladhara Chakra (First chakra)  & Swadishtana Chakra (Second chakra) meditation, combined for 21 minutes. (first chakra-10 minutes and second chakra-11 minutes or vice-versa)



2. Pranamaya Kosha (Energy Body)


Contemplation: Become aware of the interdependence of the body and the mind; see how physical processes affect the psychological processes and vice-versa.


Sadhana: Prana-Kriya with complete awareness of breathing. 7 cycles of breathing for each mudra and shavasan in the end.


Meditation: Manipura Chakra (third chakra) meditation for 21 minutes.



3. Karmamaya Kosha (Karmic Body)


Contemplation: Become aware of the principle of karma in your life. Observe the karmic connections between your actions and the consequences.


Sadhana: (To generate positive karma)

  • Become aware of your relationships and forgive or seek forgiveness wherever necessary.  Help people consciously in any way possible every day.

  • Water plants and trees; plant new trees and do it all with love and care. Be aware of the feeling within your heart as you do all this.

  • Feed Animals, Birds etc. (animals other than your pets at home).

  • Pray at the end of the day that all the positive karma generated through your acts that day helps you in your spiritual growth.


Meditation: Anahata Chakra (heart chakra) meditation for 21 minutes.



4. Manomaya Kosha (Mind Body)


Contemplation:. “Your Thoughts are not your thoughts”. See how thinking is an automatic process controlled by the whole universe and not by you.


Sadhana: Vipassana for 21 minutes.


Meditation: Vishuddhi Chakra (throat chakra) meditation for 21 minutes.



5. Vigyanamaya Kosha (Wisdom Body)


Contemplation: Contemplate on the teaching, “There is no person but only personalities”. Become aware of the personalities arising and ceasing and see that there is no one continuous person.


Sadhana: True Listening. (Invoke the Presence and listen to the stories within you.)


Meditation: Agneya Chakra (third eye chakra) meditation for 21 minutes.



6. Anandamaya Kosha (Bliss body)


Contemplation: Contemplate on the teaching of Nara-Narayana; God and man are inseperable and are two ends of the same reality. God is like the body and man is like the  cell. Perceiving the Divine intelligence at work; seeing the divine hand in our lives.


Sadhana: Worshipping the divine in your heart (Manasa Pooja) and speaking to the Presence. Express gratitude for the numerous coincidences in your life and increase your bond with the divine.


Meditation: Sahasrara Chakra (Crown Chakra) meditation for 21 minutes.


Click here to return to the Index of Articles